Enabling Opt-In Regions

This page has moved

For up-to-date information about AWS Configuration options, go to AWS Additional Configuration.

InsightCloudSec includes support for several AWS Commercial regions with the "opt-in" classification. Currently those are: Bahrain me-south-1, Hong Kong ap-east-1, Cape Town af-south-1, and Milan eu-south-1. Each of these regions are AWS “opt-in” regions and require additional configuration to be enabled.

Once enabled, you will also need to update the STS token compatibility to allow InsightCloudSec to communicate with these regions.

Session Tokens

STS tokens need to be enabled in the AWS account where your InsightCloudSec instance is deployed.

  • Without these changes, InsightCloudSec will be unable to retrieve information from these regions even if they are enabled.
  • For customers who prefer to keep these regions disabled, there are no changes required.

Allow larger session tokens

To enable STS tokens, you must allow larger session tokens to the global endpoint.

  1. Go to the AWS console (https://console.aws.amazon.com/iam/home?#/account_settings).
  2. In the Security Token Service (STS) section, in the Global Endpoint row, click Edit. (https://sts.amazonaws.com).
  3. Select Valid in all AWS Regions.
  4. Click Save changes.

AWS Regions

A full list of AWS Regions can be found on the AWS site.