Manage Workflows

Workflows are stored according to their current state out of:

  • Active
  • Draft
  • Inactive

Each workflow state has a separate tab in the Workflow Manager, where you can view the full list of workflows with the same status. From the Workflow Manager pages, you can see who last edited a workflow and when, how many steps a workflow includes, and how many human decisions the workflow requires. If you’ve added tags to your workflow, they will appear on the workflow’s tile as well.

Workflow Management Options

You can conduct the following actions on workflows from the Workflow Manager pages. Different types of workflows have different available actions, which you can learn more about here

To find the options menu for a workflow:

  1. Navigate to your desired Workflow Manager tab for Active, Draft, or Inactive statuses.
  2. Find the workflow you’d like to modify by looking for it in the search bar or scrolling within the list of workflows for either category (Active or Inactive).
  3. Click on the ellipsis on the right side of the workflow’s tile.

A dropdown menu will appear. Menu items include the following actions:

Manually Run Workflows

You can manually run active workflows and provide specific trigger information in order to force the workflow to create a new job outside of regular trigger behavior.

To manually run a workflow:

  1. Follow the options menu navigation instructions above.
  2. Select the Run option.
  3. Provide any trigger input parameters, then click the Run Workflow button to confirm. The new job created by this manual run will open in a new window.

Activate Workflows

Draft and inactive workflows can be activated. When activating workflows, double check that any configurations for connections, plugins, or steps are correct by testing as many elements as you are able to. Properly tested configurations avoid future workflow errors or failures.

Deactivate Workflows

Active workflows can be deactivated if you want to stop creating jobs for those workflows and do not wish to edit the workflow further.

To deactivate an active workflow:

  1. Follow the options menu navigation instructions above.
  2. Select the Deactivate option.

You can now find this workflow in the “Inactive” tab in the Workflow Manager, where you can modify or reactivate the workflow as needed.

Create or Edit Drafts from Active or Inactive Workflows

Draft and active workflows can correspond to each other in a variety of ways. Learn more about how Active-Draft pairs work here.

To create a draft workflow from an existing active or inactive workflow:

  1. Follow the options menu navigation instructions above.
  2. Select the Create Draft button.
  3. A new draft will open in the Workflow Builder. This draft will have the same configurations as the active or inactive workflow you created the draft from, but will not run or create any jobs until you click the Activate button. If you want to save the new draft without activating the workflow, exit out of the Workflow Builder and click Draft in the left sidebar.

Your new draft should appear within the “Draft” tab in the Workflow Manager.

To edit a draft that corresponds to an active or inactive workflow:

  1. Follow the options menu navigation instructions above.
  2. Select the Edit Draft option.
  3. The Workflow Builder will open the correct draft. Modify the draft workflow as needed, then test it. You can exit out of the builder if you prefer not to activate the draft workflow right away.

Multiple Editors

Make sure only one Insight account holder is editing a given draft at a time. Multiple editors on the same draft can lead to unexpected behavior, or worse, unsaved hard work. Check with your team to make sure you’re clear to work on a draft workflow.

Delete Workflows

Draft and inactive workflows can be deleted from the workflow manager. Deleting a workflow does not delete any connections or plugins used within the workflow.

To delete a workflow from the Draft or Inactive tabs:

  1. Follow the options menu navigation instructions above.
  2. Select the Delete Workflow option.
  3. Confirm that you want to permanently delete the workflow by clicking the Yes, Delete button.